Stay

What is the first thought that comes to your head when you hear that word? In many cases, I am sure the word Suicide does not come to mind but it should. Many do not believe they should Stay. They think that this world is cruel and life just isn’t worth it if it causes this much pain. We can tell them over and over why it is important but sometimes words are just not enough. Sometimes people just need an ear, or a shoulder or a hug. Sometimes people just need alone time but know that at any time they can come to you in a time of need. We need to let those who are suffering know that it is OK to Stay

Not sure how many are really suffering from depression or some other mental illness? Here are some statistics from the American Foundation of Suicide Prevention:

  • Suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in the US
  • Each year 44,193 people die from Suicide in the US; over 800,000 globally
  • On average, there is 121 suicides per day, that is 1 suicide every 40 seconds
  • Men die from suicide 3.5x more likely than women
  • The rate of suicide is at it’s highest with middle aged men
  • Every day, average of 20 veterans die from suicide

My heart hurts looking at these numbers. It is amazing that so many are suffering that much that they can no longer imagine to live. I can understand some of their pain as I did try to commit suicide when I was 13 years old; an age where I was not even old enough to comprehend how serious suicide was or how permanent, i just wanted the pain to stop. I have family members who have tried to commit multiple times because of the illness they suffer from and how they just wanted to make it all stop. My mom even lost her best friend from suicide when he was only 15 years old.

This Sunday, September 10th, is World Suicide Prevention Day. A day where we need to acknowledge that suicide is an epidemic in this world and we need to let those know that are hurting that they are not alone. Yes, we suffer from different things in different ways, but that doesn’t mean the pain is any different. It is an illness when you feel that you are no longer loved or do not deserve to be loved. It is an illness when you feel the pain is to great and there is no other way out but to die. It is an illness when you feel no one else can understand your pain. It is an illness when you think no one wants you and you feel like a burden. Mental illness is real and so many of us suffer from it. Whether it is depression and/or anxiety or even as severe as bipolar; so many of us can understand where these individuals are coming from and how we can be there for them.

TWLOHA is one of my favorite organizations about spreading the love to those who suffer. They point out that no matter what has happened to you God loves you and has created you for a purpose and we will love you no matter what and be there to help you in your time of need. Their current campaign is called Stay and their goal is to give people hope, not just for World Suicide Prevention day but for always. They said in their blog:

WSPD17_SocialStay and rest.
Stay and fight.
Stay and see things change.
Stay to love and be loved.
Stay to be surprised.
Stay to live your dreams.
Stay. Find what you were made for.

As much as a lot of people have come to realize that Staying is more important than Suicide, not all who suffer have gotten the message.

On the blog Stumbling and Standing, she wrote:

On this blog, I do my best to end each post on a positive note. No matter what the content, I try to see the silver lining in each situation. This is also how I navigate life, how I figure out how to make it through the storms of life. As with my posts, however, there are times when finding the silver lining is harder to do. I claw my way out of darkness towards a promising light, only to find I’m in yet another mirage. There’s no telling how many times I’ll get back up when I fall, but at some point I do feel like staying down. I hide myself away because acting on hope seems foolish—all the fight leaves me, and I just want to block out everything and everyone. If I stayed down forever, though, I would never have discovered the treasures in life—experiences, people, stories I would never heard because I would not have been around to live through them.

She really hit the nail on the head with this one. We all feel like staying down at some point. Even for me, who is now in my 30s, I have felt the pain be such a burden that the thought of just crashing my car to a wall would just stop it, not realizing for those few seconds of the even greater pain it would cause my family. Suicide is never the answer; especially because everyone has so much to live for.

You want to help spread the love and help spread the awareness of Suicide, I have provided some links. If you ever feel hopeless and have suicidal thoughts, Please call the Suicide Hotline at 1-800-273-8255.

Remember that you ARE important. Just Stay.

  1. TWLOHA Stay Campaign
  2. America Foundation for Suicide Prevention
  3. Suicide Prevention Hotline
Leave a Reply

