What’s in a memory…

Remember as a kid we had assignments at church or in school to memorize verses? Well I was horrible at them. It depended on how long they were but I was still bad. Fast forward a few years. January 31st, 2003, I was the victim of a hate crime. November 8th, 2003, I was a victim of a car accident. 8-9 years later, I can tell you my body isn’t like a normal person. My memory is shot to a point where someone can tell me something one second and I can forget it that quickly. Its happened so much my mom is at the point of being worried that I need to see a neurologist. Most likely an issue of my Hydrocephalus because I’m not suppose to be hurt in the head but It wasn’t like I could tell my attackers “Hey can you stop kicking me in the head?” on January 31st to warn the driver behind me before he hit me on November 8th. Yes, I’m pretty jacked up due to some not so fun times. Now here in 2012, my church decides to do memorizing every week for this year. Its a great idea but boy, I couldn’t do it as a kid and I definitely can’t do it now. Like I said before, I can’t even remember something within a second! How can I memorize verses every week?

I figured since I wanted to bring out more within this blog, I will post those verses here! It won’t be me memorizing them but at least I have them where I can read them and even try to remember them if i can. It won’t be easy but I hope this helps. We are on week 16 now so I will post that one now and post the others once a week!

John 14:21 (NIV)

“Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”

What a great verse for this week… love it. Thanks for listening to my sad story 😉

– J

3 thoughts on “What’s in a memory…

  1. Janice Spitzer says:

    Jessica, I have a bad memory too and I wanted to memorize Scripture for Beth Moore’s James study. She said to ask God to help us memorize because He wants us to hide His word in our hearts. Ps. 119:11. So I asked Him to help me learn and remember what I was memorizing and He did it. Of course I have to keep reviewing but He is faithful to answer to help me as I do my part.

    Like

    • Janice Spitzer says:

      There’s a great appear called ” Remember Me” that you can use to help you learn and review your memory verses. Look for it in your app market
      It’s free.

      Like

      • Jessi says:

        really? I didn’t know that! I got YouVersion on my phone and I do devotionals on there but Im gonna give Remember Me a shot. Thanks mom! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

