10 years later…

Can you believe that 10 years has passed since 9/11 happened? I can still remember like it was yesterday when my dad woke me up just passed 6 am in California telling me words that will haunt me forever, “Terrorists just attacked the World Trade Center”. I was only 16 and half asleep but I remember saying to myself, “What is the World Trade Center?”. It wasn’t until I entered my parents room and looked on the TV to see the North Tower engulfed in flames. I wasn’t as certain like my father was that Terrorists had attacked us; I guess deep down I didn’t want it to be true. It wasn’t until only seconds after I arrived into the room is when I saw the 2nd plane hit the South Tower. That is when I began to pray to God to protect those who were in the middle of this and those would be affected by it.

Again, being 16, I didn’t quite understand how horrific terrorism was until I was witnessing it with my own eyes. I was in disbelief, I was scared and I was uncertain for the future. 10 years later, I now am 26, divorced, mother of a beautiful 3 year old little girl and Aunt to a wonderful boy who was only 3 months old at the time of 9/11 and is now in the 5th grade and to my first and only niece who I adore greatly, who was born 9 months after 9/11. Never did I think my life would be where it is today but I know God has me where he wants me to be. The choices I made is what got me here and even though I personally did not lose someone on 9/11, I feel for those who did like If i knew them and each tear i shed is in mourning.

This was the day that US united together. No one cared about race, religion, sexuality… We ALL were Americans and we all suffered a tragedy. I wish I could say we are still united after 10 years, but we are broken again because of what we disagree is right or wrong in the world. No matter what, I feel today we are unite again and I hope to see a change in the world for the better and not for the worse. I know It will get worse before it gets better because the Lord said so in Revelations but one day Jesus Christ will return for his children and the world will be ok.

Personal thanks to President Bush and President Obama for even though they have different views on how to run the country, they united to try and stop terrorism. President Bush got Hussein, President Obama got Bin Laden; I wish that was the end but it never will be but I thank you for never giving up.

Leave a Reply

