It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! Literally…

My Front Yard - December 1st

Everyone knows I am a California girl and last year when I lived in Reno, I got hit hard with how cold it really can get. Temperatures dropped to -22 degrees and we got 2 feet of snow. What was funny is that was a freak snowstorm. All the former residents of Reno told us that it hadn’t snowed like that for ten years. Of course, it being our first ‘real’ winter, we would get a freak one, right? Now its a year later and here I am in Meridian, ID. A place I visited as a kid and I do remember it snowing a lot. Apparently that was the last time it snowed that bad. Seventeen years later, temperatures have dropped to 0 and we had about 6 1/2 inches of snow, which isn’t too bad but for having a car that is about 6 1/2 inches off the ground, we really have been stuck. The snow has been melting the past couple of days so it has gotten a little bit better but it is cold. Funny thing, this Cali girl is now use to it. I hear from my friends on twitter “OMG Its freezing in California or Tennessee” and I asked them what the temp is and they say “63!” I giggle… I tell them its 23 here and if they would like to trade. They never respond, i wonder why? 😉 But its nice to finally get use to this cold weather because I never plan on moving back to California. Sometimes I do miss it, mostly because of my family, but to raise a family, it’s not a good place to be. Here in Idaho it has been treating us well, and if I can beat the cold, I can beat anything 🙂

Leave a Reply

