September 11th – 9 years later

SEPT 11 2001 NYC

I can’t believe it has been nine years since the day that changed our country forever. It amazes me how I can barely remember what I did last week, but 9 years ago today, I remember it like it was yesterday.  I remember being 16, It was around 6 in the morning and my dad waking me up saying “Terrorists attacked the World Trade Center!”. Being half asleep, I remember thinking ‘What’s the World Trade Center’?’. I walked into their room and looked at the TV, seeing that the North Tower was in flames. At first I didn’t believe it was a terrorist attack, I just figured bad luck on an airplane. It wasn’t even 10 seconds later that I thought of this when I witnessed the second plane crash into the South Tower. That is when my heart stopped. I grew very concerned at this point, I didn’t know what was happening and I feared at that moment, our country was never going to be the same again. And it hasn’t. I remember calling my Best Friend at the time, as be both were freaking out together over the phone and we remembered something we said the night before. The night before was a Monday and we talked on the phone every night before we went to bed. I told her “It’s so weird, today I had the BEST day ever” and she replied back “So did I!”. We didn’t think anything of it, we just assumed we were having a good day, not knowing the next morning not only our lives, but America’s were going to change. I felt the Lord was like, warning us in some way. I don’t know if anyone had a good September 10th, but I know the Lord had a hand in that one. As the day went on, hearing about the Pentagon and then the plane crash in Pennsylvania. I just couldn’t believe it and couldn’t take anymore. For someone who did not lose anyone on that day, I still took it hard as if I did. The bravery of the men and woman who lost their lives that day still get me. Nine years later, I still replay the day in my head. Nine years later we are still at war with these people. As much as the war seems to be dragging along, I support what our Troops do out there everyday. I have had three people, very dear to me go to Afghanistan and Iraq. Two of them have retired already, but one still remains, battling for our Country. I miss him, I love him and I pray for his safety everyday. He has been my best friend since the 1st grade and everyday I fear of the phone call I would get from his mom. Its not a good feeling.

Just wanted to share my story for today. I don’t want us to forget. I want us to remember what happened and to pray for the families of the ones who lost their lives today. Today is the day for us, as a country, to be one.

Leave a Reply

