Bible Scripture of 5/24/10

PHOTO_0997Since i am trying to be a better Christian and finally allow myself to do more things with the church like i feel God wants to do, i decided to try and get back into the Bible Scriptures that i was doing before. Now for mother’s day this year i got a new bible. Nothing was wrong with my old one but because it was my first adult bible, (I received it for my 8th Grade Graduation) i just couldn’t mark in it or do anything to it. Usually they say “An Abused Bible is a Used Bible” which is totally true but for some reason i just could not do that to my bible. I mean its White with my name printed on the front with a dove and its a NKJV* and… yea i just couldn’t do it! So my husband decided to buy a bible that i could just totally abuse. Its a beautiful blue with ivory embroidery and its a ESV** and I just love it! So the first thing i did was start to highlight some wonderful verses. I have a lot that go from Matthew, Acts, Galatians, you name it i marked it. As for what i would say for today’s scripture i had no idea which one to pick and it finally hit me yesterday at church. We were discussing about if we were a giver or a taken to God and to others. In Acts 20:35 the Lord says “ ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’ “ and POOF it hit me… I had a great verse somewhere in the 20th chapter that i thought would be great to use and reflect through out the day, especially if i want to become a better Christian. So here it is, the verse of the day.

Acts 20:24 ~ “But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.”

Leave a Reply

